top of page
  • toniburness

Cranioplasty Surgery

After 4 months of the tissue expanding treatment I underwent the cranioplasty surgery on Saturday 2 July 2022. This surgery involved removing the tissue expander, placing my titanium skull in and then stretching the skin over the skull. The doctors even managed to get rid of the precious scar tissue from ear to ear so the wound starts fresh again.


Unfortunately I lost a lot of blood during the surgery so came out feeling very sick and tired, it was a struggle to open my eyes. Today it will be nearly 48hrs since the op, they have taken my bloods each day as my blood pressure has been on the lower side and are hoping a few days rest allows me to build my levels back up to normal naturally.


I have had a drain in since the surgery, day 1 there was 340ml drainage and day 2 480ml drainage. They want to keep the drain in until later today to prevent any fluids/blood sitting beneath the scalp.


I am nervous but excited to see my new skull and head shape. Hoping to continue to heal and have a good recovery from here.



Recent Posts

See All

Post op

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page