top of page
  • toniburness

Home Time

After 8 days and 7 nights in hospital I finally got the all clear to go home! I am forever grateful for the doctors, nursing and hospital staff for looking after me. This surgery will hopefully be the last one 🤞


After my worst day on Tuesday where the drain was playing up and shooting fluid back into my head, I really did think “this is it…!”, to then getting the bandage off on Thursday I am finally here - HOME TIME!! I have been able to get through my 4th brain surgery in 13 mths!


There is still a little bit of fluid under my skin, but the doctors say that it could take 2-4 months to absorb into the body naturally. You can actually see the fluid pulsating under my scalp - tmi I know!


Because of the infection last year I am going home on antibiotics and will continue to see my doctors over the next few months. My neurosurgeon said the main things to look out for and be concerned about would be if there is any fluid coming out of my head or wound, along with a fever, swelling, vomiting and a headache. I am also to keep my head elevated as much as possible until head fluid goes away.


I will see my plastic surgeon on Monday to review sutchurs and wound and will see neurosurgeon in 6-8 weeks time. Plan from there will be to wean me off the anticonvulsants over several weeks.


I am over the moon that last week is behind me. The body continues to amaze me at what it can go through. I now get to rest and recover at home with my amazing and supportive husband and daughter who continue to go through this journey with me every step of the way!! ❤️




78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Post op

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page