top of page
  • toniburness

Nearly A Year Without My Skull

Updated: Jun 7, 2022

I would never have thought that I would have my skull removed due to a post op infection and live without a skull for a year. It’s incredible that you can even live without a skull and the technology to replace it is beyond amazing!

The piece of skull that was removed was a large section on top of my head. The picture below shows you how big the piece of skull was that was removed. I am not going to lie it has been difficult living without a skull - the constant worry and caution is exhausting. I wont know myself when this is over, I will be able to sleep comfortably, wash my hair properly and build up my exercise to be able to jump/run and lie down again.


My skull protector is a temporary thing, once the tissue expanding is complete this piece of skull will be replaced with a titanium one. I am so grateful for the technology and the doctors who are helping me with this process and look forward to getting back to normality.


This journey has not only impacted my life it has impacted those close to me as well. I am forever grateful for the support around me and for those that have stopped their lives to help take me to appointments, listen to me when I am feeling flat, have a coffee and chat and just being there every step of the way cheering me on!


131 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Post op

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page