top of page
  • toniburness

Nearly there!

After having another 40ml put in on Monday I am now at 360ml. Surgery is booked for this Saturday! The last step was to shave my head this week so they have full visibility on the day. I am feeling nervous but also excited that this is it! I’m finally getting a skull back 😊


My cousin did an amazing job shaving my head! It’s unreal seeing my head and the expander without hair. I am still amazed at the solutions Doctors can come up with today.


I am really looking forward to being on the other side of this surgery so I can focus on recovering 100%. It is hard not to think of the “what if’s”, and it’s ok to think about them. But I do believe your mindset has a big impact on the surgery and your recovery, so it is important to keep as positive as possible. What I find helps me is thinking about myself beyond the surgery and something I am looking forward to doing after the surgery…. It’s keeps me feeling focussed and determined to get there.


I was talking to my daughter (4yo) this morning and explaining that I was getting my hair shaved again and that I was feeling a little nervous for my surgery! She turned to me and said “mum it will all be ok, you have Owie (a soft toy she got me after my first surgery) and you have me, I’ll be with you in your heart”…… this just made me melt. I am so lucky to have such a strong, brave and wonderful daughter by my side.


My husband and daughter make me determined to keep going and get through any challenge that comes my way! We have so many more memories to make on the other side! ❤️❤️






Recent Posts

See All

Post op

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page