top of page
  • toniburness

Progress not perfection…

“It is the courage we find during life‘s most difficult times that makes our souls grow” - Adele Basheer


After being on this journey since I was 19 years old and facing many different obstacles it has made me realise that life is not about the rat race its about slowing down to enjoy every little moment each and everyday.

…Yes, I’m not going to lie this last year has been the hardest challenge I have had to face yet, but I just have to keep pushing through no matter how painful and frustrating the process is.

After talking to many people about my journey it has become apparent that there is not enough awareness out there about brain tumours and the impact they can have on a persons life. People sometimes assume because it may not be cancerous or terminal that it is easier to deal with. Sometimes people are faced with multiple craniotomy’s, inoperable tumours, radiation treatment and chemo. I do believe that at times people just assume you can remove it and move on. That is definitely not the case - the anxiety, watching and waiting and the unknown can be all consuming. Surgeries then add an extra layer of complexity as brain surgery can result in further complications too.


It is important to speak about this and create awareness so that more funding and research can be generated to help find treatments and possible cures.


Tissue Expanding Progress

I have since had another 40ml put into my tissue expander, now sitting at 280ml total. My second head is shaping up nicely! It may not be perfect yet but I am glad to see progression!!


I always have to remind myself I am not defined by my health, it is how I work through these challenges to get to the end goal that counts.






Recent Posts

See All

Post op

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page