top of page
  • toniburness

Take 2 - Stereotactic Radiation Therapy

Following the treatment in December 2011 I started with regular MRIs every 6 months, which then were moved to annually once my neurosurgeon was comfortable that there was minimal brain tumour growth. I was finally able to enjoy my life, I graduated from university, landed a career in HR, got engaged, married and brought a house - life was good!


Unfortunately in July 2016 my neurosurgeon noticed some changes with the tumour. I asked to be referred back to the radiation oncologist in NSW to see if stereotactic radiation was an option again. I wanted to avoid invasive surgery at all costs as my husband and I were now wanting to start a family. The doctor suggested that I could have the stereotactic radiation therapy one more time to see if this helps stunt the growth of the tumour so I could get pregnant and avoid any further growth or change during the pregnancy (as MRIs were off the cards whilst pregnant).


In November 2016 I flew back to Sydney to have the treatment at the Prince of Wales Hospital. My mum, stepdad and husband were all by my side. This time it was 4 days of treatment in single doses each morning. There was a major positive this time too - the head frame was no longer used, they had developed an immobilisation mask instead. Prior to the treatment the mask was prepared - mesh was moulded to my head (front and back). The immobilisation mask would then be used to connect my head to the table.


The 4 day treatment went well, the side effects during this time included a lack of energy and mild headaches and nausea. When I returned home I had similar symptoms to last time - hair loss and on and off headaches. Post treatment I had an MRI in January 2017 followed by a consult with my neurosurgeon in February 2017. He said now that we had another MRI to go from it was safe to get pregnant, the plan was to try and fall pregnant in the following 6 months. If I didn't fall pregnant in this time I would have to have another MRI in July 2017. I was over the moon and felt like things were starting to get back on track again!!







174 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Post op

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page